Attending the 2019 MEECO Leadership Conference in San Diego last week was good for my heart, head, and soul. I was honored to attend and accept an award as 2019’s International Thought Leader of Distinction in Executive Coaching.

About MEECO Leadership Institute

MEECO_Leadership_InstituteMEECO is an information-sharing institute for corporations, institutions, and government agencies interested in improving employee experiences. In addition, it is a certifying organization for master level corporate executive coaches. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges related to employment sciences.

The MEECO Leadership Conference

The MEECO Leadership Conference is a chance to dialogue with other executive coaches, leadership experts, and organizational stakeholders. Top global experts in the fields of executive coaching and talent development presented sessions that were thought provoking and deeply useful.

There were so many impactful sessions, but a few of the most notable include

All of the sessions were very impactful. I recommend checking out the agenda to learn more about all of the excellent speakers and their work.

Our emcee, Frank Wagner, was a terrific entertainer. He introduced each speaker with a hard hitting, personal story – which made them all quite memorable. Thank you, Frank!

The International Thought Leader Awards

Nancy Parsons MEECO Leadership Conference - Award Gala

The International Thought Leader of Distinction Awards exist to recognize those who helped create and continue to lead a path for corporate executive coaching and leadership. The award category of executive coaching recognizes individuals who have provided distinctive thought leadership in the field of executive coaching; a trained professional helping an executive achieve various development and/or leadership goals through a variety of thought-provoking processes. Other 2019 awardees include Sally Helgesen, Drea Zigarmi, Vince Molinaro, and Ramona Hood. Previous award winners include Marshall Goldsmith, Barbara Singer, Bob Anderson, Jim Kouzes, and others.

Nancy Parsons MEECO Leadership Conference - Accepting Award

I must take a moment to thank Barbara McMahon, my colleague on this leadership development journey for many years. She nominated me for the International Thought Leader of Distinction Award, and introduced me at the Awards Gala with a very thoughtful speech. I followed up with my acceptance speech that contained a somewhat unexpected message – and I saw some jaws drop! “I love this work, the people, and the privilege of helping others see themselves in a whole new way to improve their lives, work, relationships, and careers. On the other hand, we need to revolutionize leadership!” Though I am extremely humbled and honored by this distinction, there is still much work left to be done. At the request of several colleagues, I have published my acceptance speech on my personal LinkedIn blog.

Again, many thanks to everyone at MEECO who made this event happen. I leave feeling empowered, refreshed, and hopeful for what is to come in this industry.